What Is Preksha Meditation?

Preksha meditation was developed by a Jain guru named  Acharya Mahapragya. The word Preksha is derived from two Sanskrit words, pura (prior) and kshaya (impression). Preksha Meditation combines religion, meditation, and modern science.

According to the Preksha Dhyana website, “Preksha means seeing things the way they are; it is a process of looking within oneself with a pure, objective and penetrating vision.” Preksha meditation is based on the principle that all living beings have innate wisdom and that by cultivating this wisdom through Preksha meditation, we can improve our physical, mental and emotional health.

Preksha meditation has been shown to be effective in reducing stress, anxiety, and depression. It is also said to improve concentration and memory. Let’s talk more about this unique meditative practice.

Techniques in Preksha Meditation


Kayotsarga is a type of Preksha meditation that helps you relax and enhances self-awareness. It involves sitting comfortably with your eyes closed and focusing on your breath. Kayotsarga can be practiced for any length of time, but it is typically done for 10-20 minutes.

Kayotsarga is an effective way to reduce stress and anxiety, and it can also help to improve focus and concentration. If you are new to Kayotsarga, it is best to start with shorter sessions and gradually increase the length of time as you become more comfortable with the practice.


The goal of this practice is to still the mind and connect with the innermost self. During Antaryatra meditation, the practitioner sits in a comfortable position and closes the eyes. The breath is allowed to flow naturally, and the focus is placed on the rise and fall of the chest.

The mind is allowed to wander, and thoughts are simply observed without judgment. Over time, the practitioner becomes more aware of the inner workings of the mind and can begin to let go of harmful thoughts and patterns. As a result, Antaryatra can help to promote mental clarity and peace of mind.

Shwas  Preksha

Shwas Preksha is a branch of Preksha meditation that focuses on breath awareness. The idea is to simply observe your breath and notice the sensations that come with each inhale and exhale. You can do this with your eyes open or closed, whichever is more comfortable for you.

The goal is not to control your breath in any way, but simply to be present with it. With regular practice, you may find that your breath naturally begins to slow down and deepen on its own. Shwas Preksha can be practiced for any length of time, from a few minutes to an hour or more.

Sharir Preksha 

According to the teachings of Jainism, the soul is housed in the body and it is through the body that we experience the world. For this reason, it is important to maintain a healthy body as a way to protect the soul. Sharir Preksha is a branch of Preksha meditation that focuses on awareness of the body.

Practitioners of Sharir Preksha learn to observe their bodies in a non-judgmental way, paying attention to both physical and mental sensations. By becoming more aware of their bodies, they can learn to release tension and cultivate a sense of ease.

In addition, Sharir Preksha can also help to improve posture, digestion, and sleep. For people who are looking for a way to connect with their bodies on a deeper level, Sharir Preksha may be an ideal practice.

Chaitanya Kendra Preksha

Chaitanya Kendra Preksha focuses on the awareness of psychic centers, or chakras. Preksha meditation is a core practice in Jainism, and it is believed to help purify the soul and promote physical and mental well-being. The goal of Chaitanya Kendra Preksha is to help practitioners achieve a state of inner peace and balance.

To do this, practitioners focus their attention on each of the seven chakras, starting at the crown chakra and moving down to the base chakra. By meditating on each chakra, practitioners can open up blocked energy pathways and promote circulation throughout the body.

In addition, Chaitanya Kendra Preksha is said to help increase concentration and focus, as well as improve sleep quality. Ultimately, this type of meditation can be beneficial for both mind and body.

Leshya Dhyan

Leshya Dhyan is a meditation practice that focuses on the awareness of psychic colors. It is derived from the Jain tradition, and its goal is to promote inner peace and detachment from the material world. The meditation is traditionally done by sitting in a cross-legged position and fixating on a certain point in front of the practitioner.

The eyes are then slowly closed, and the focus is turned inward. The practitioner then begins to notice the different colors that appear in their mind’s eye. These colors are said to be associated with different states of mind, and by observing them, the practitioner can develop greater self-awareness and detachment from their thoughts and emotions. Leshya Dhyan is a powerful meditation practice that can help to promote inner peace and harmony.


Anupreksha is a type of meditation that involves contemplation. The goal is to focus on one thought or object and observe it without judgment. This can be done by focusing on the breath, a mantra, or a physical object. The idea is to let thoughts come and go without getting caught up in them. Anupreksha can be helpful for reducing stress, improving concentration, and promoting self-awareness.

It is important to find a comfortable place to sit or lie down before beginning the meditation. Once you are settled, close your eyes and focus on your breath. You may want to count each inhale and exhale, or simply focus on the sensation of breathing. If your mind wanders, simply bring your attention back to your breath.

Final Word

Preksha is a comprehensive field of meditation that serves as an umbrella to a plethora of different meditation techniques. Each technique is different, and therefore, it offers different benefits. These techniques are simple, and to master them, you only need some patience and discipline, so make sure to give them a try

About The Author

Scroll to Top